Question: Why Are My Messages Automatically Deleting?

Can someone delete my text messages?

If you have their phone physically you can open the app to your message and delete it.

Sure, someone can remotely access your phone if they had previously installed a Trojan android app on your phone..

Can I recover deleted text messages?

Your carrier stores text messages for a while after they’ve been deleted, and they may be able to retrieve what you need. It’s unlikely, however, that your carrier will recover deleted text messages if the reason for your request is minor, but it doesn’t hurt to ask if you want to try.

How do I restore messages on my iPhone?

How to recover deleted texts without overwriting your iPhoneLog into iCloud.com using your Apple ID and password.Click on Text Messages. … Search the messages to find the ones you need.Now go to your iPhone and choose Settings > [your name] > iCloud.Turn off Text Messages (or make sure it’s already turned off).More items…•Dec 15, 2020

How long do messages stay on iPhone?

30 DaysBy default, your iPhone or iPad will keep messages “Forever”, but you can choose to keep them for “30 Days” or “1 Year” if you prefer. As for audio messages, your device will automatically delete them two minutes after you listen to them.

How did all my text messages get deleted?

All those files are hidden somewhere in the hard drive, waiting to be retrieved… or replaced. This is exactly what happens with Android phones as well. Everything we delete, including SMS messages, sticks around until enough time passes by and/or the space is needed to store other data.

Why does iPhone delete old messages?

One possible reason is that you set your iPhone to keep the messages for only 30 days or 1 year. In addition, iOS updates may also delete some types of data on the device including text messages. Sometimes, you may also delete your message by mistake but you don’t know it.

Where did all my old text messages go?

If you have a Google Account and you’ve turned on the Back up to Google Drive function, the data and settings, which includes the SMS text messages, will be automatically backed up to the Google Drive storage. With this, you can easily restore the deleted messages on Android from the backups.

Will I lose my messages if I turn off iCloud?

With Messages in iCloud, when you delete a message, attachment, or conversation on one device, it deletes from all of your devices. … If you turn off Messages in iCloud on an iPhone or iPad, your message history is included in a separate iCloud backup.

What happened to my messages on iPhone?

First of all, go to Settings > General > iPhone Storage and scroll down to the Messages app to check if it takes up the same storage. If your messages disappeared from iPhone but still in storage, well then, you have a good chance to get back your missing messages on iPhone.

How do I stop my messages from automatically deleting?

How to Stop Auto Deleting Audio or Video Messages on an iPhoneStep 1: Tap the Expire button under Audio Messages.Step 2: Select the Never option, then tap the Messages button to return to the previous menu.Step 3: Tap the Expire button under Video Messages.Step 4: Select the Never option.Feb 17, 2021

Why my messages get deleted automatically?

This automatic deletion of old messages occurs as a space-saving feature in the Android Marshmallow operating system, and is meant to be a simple way to manage your storage.

How do I turn off auto delete messages on my iPhone?

Go to Settings>Messages>Message History>Keep Messages> Forever. It undoes the option of only keeping messages for a year.

Does deleting text messages free up storage?

Delete old text messages Don’t worry, you can delete them. Be sure to delete messages with photos and videos first – they chew up the most space. Here’s what to do if you’re using an Android smartphone. … Apple automatically saves a copy of your Messages to iCloud, so delete messages right now to free up space!

Does deleting text messages free up space on iPhone?

Luckily, since iOS 8, you can limit how long you want your messages stored on your iPhone or iPad. So, unless there is a mission-critical reason for you to hang on to old messages, deleting them automatically can free up tons of space on your iPhone or iPad – leaving more space for that cool app you just found.

Does iPhone automatically delete old messages?

By default, the iPhone keeps all messages forever (or until you manually delete them). If you prefer, tap “30 Days” or ‘1 Year.” If you do, the iPhone will automatically discard your messages after the selected time period.

How do you delete messages on iPhone so the other person cant see it?

Open the Messages app and tap the “Edit” button in the corner. Locate the SMS thread you want to remove and tap the little red (-) button, then tap the “Delete” button to remove all messages and correspondence with that person. Repeat as necessary for other contacts.